MY VIEW ABOUT PURITY, ABSTINENCE, ETC.

These are the questions sent to me by AB AB primetime (from Kampala Uganda) one of my friends on my multiply account. What they do is to interview singles who committed themselves to sexual purity. Check out AB AB other blogs at http://breaktheshame.multiply.com/journal

1. Who is Jhunnelle?


I am a 32 year old female from the Philippines. I grew up in the southern part of the Philippines. The gospel was introduced to me at a very young age. As far as I remember I accepted Jesus Christ as my personal Lord when I was in elementary school. I was one of the fruits of the first missionaries that visited our place. Although when I was in college I backslid for almost 4 years because I got involved with an unbeliever. But God is faithful, He called me back. His great love and grace led me to true repentance.


I promised that no matter what, I will serve Him!

2. How would you best describe your life before making a commitment to sexual purity?


I was conceived out of wedlock but because the gospel was introduced to me at a very young age, I learned at an early age that premarital sex is a sin. I remember when I was young I made a promise to myself that I will only give my virginity to the person that I married. I have a strong personality because I grew up without a father beside me, that made me hate men, I don’t want to surrender or submit to men, so to me giving giving my virginity to any man is a sign of weakness.

Yes, I’ve got involved with men we kissed, got sexual fantasies but still these are sins.

3. What motivated you to make that decision?


Christ’s love for me motivated me to make a commitment to sexual purity. When I was in college premarital sex was so rampant in my school. I believe God has protected me and preserved me for the person that He has prepared for me.

Besides I was so afraid then, to be impregnated at the very young age. I don’t want my child if ever, to experience what I experienced (without a father beside me)

Right now I am teaching in our Church under Christian Education Department and a doorkeeper (worker) in our church. As a servant of Christ the people around me should or must see that I am practicing what I am teaching.

4. How best can you describe your life after that commitment?


I am currently single, no boyfriend. And honestly there are times when I felt so much loneliness; I longed to be loved by someone. Sometimes I felt like maybe if there was a man besides me I would be happy, but the love of Christ reminded me always that getting married will not complete me instead I am complete already in Him.

I am really blessed and thankful that God has found me. I can’t imagine my life without Him. This is life, knowing and believing that God loves me. I Accepted His Love by receiving His Son as my personal Lord and Savior.

5. Who is your ideal man? Have you found him?

A man who fears the Lord. Someone who knows and believes that Jesus Loves Him. Someone who knows His role as a man, someone who is willing to grow in his relationship with God, someone who has a vision.

And yes I am praying for someone right now.

6. What are you looking forward to in the future?


These are my dreams or I should say vision to be married, have a family and be a strong support to my husband in his calling. For my family to come to Christ. I want to see them in Heaven. To preach and teach God’s love and God’s grace to the whole world. To see people come to Christ and to see them and the church grow in the knowledge of His love, of His will, of His grace and of His Word. To have such an intimate walk with God, receiving His love in such a powerful way, that all my life is strengthened with joy and peace no matter the trials I might be walking through.

I also want to put up an orphanage.

7. What has been your greatest challenge in sexual purity?
The print ads, the TV, the songs that I heard, everywhere you can see things that stimulate your sexual appetite.

Even my peers in my work sometimes are a source of pressure to me. It is weird for them seeing a 32 year old virgin!!

But I always remind myself that I am the Temple of the Holy Spirit. But thanks be to God, He strengthens me when I am weak. We have been conquerors because He is with us.

8. What advice can you give a young man/woman that is sexually active but not married?


It’s not weakness to remain pure until marriage; sex will not give you self-worth. Sex will not make you complete. Don’t believe in Satan’s lie that Sex is love. Sex is beautiful when you do it in the matrimonial bed or when married couples are doing it. Some says it is a form of worship when married couples do it, I agree with that because I believe it was given and approved by God for us to enjoy it in the matrimonial bed.

10. What is the funniest/embarrassing thing that you have ever done in life?


I was living in a boarding house of boys and girls, One day I came from the wash room (bathroom) I didn’t notice that the tip of my skirt was tucked-in or inserted on my underwear exposing my behind. My board mates (all guys) were laughing while looking at me I thought they were laughing because of the show that they were watching on TV, so I just smiled at them but when I entered my room I noticed that my behind was exposed. It was really embarrassing for me.

10. If you had one day as a president of your country, what would you change about it?


Our country is facing various controversial issues right now. Corruption has been very rampant in our government agencies. I want a renewal program emphasizing righteousness. I want to incorporate the study of the bible in our Education system because I believe that right belief leads to right living.

11. What is your favorite book, song, scripture and WHY?


I’ve got so many books here, I love reading Christian books, but if you check my collections, you can find a lot of books about being single, books talking about purity, waiting, struggles of singles, temptations, failures, victories, sacrifices, woman’s and man’s role in a relationship, etc. So I don’t have a specific book!

Scriptures:
Jeremiah 29:11

“For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope”

I know that whatever situations I am into, whether good or bad, all He wants is the best for me. And that He has a plan for me.

Jeremiah 1:5-8
Psalms 139

I love all kinds of Christian Songs, especially songs that declare the beauty of God!!

Leave a Reply

