WHAT CAN I SEE IN THE GENEALOGY OF JESUS CHRIST?

Genealogies in the bible are quite boring to read for some, including me. But that was before, only until God revealed to me something in the genealogy of Jesus Christ. God displays His sovereignty and grace through this passage. 

As we go through with Jesus genealogy, we see some messed-up folks here. David the adulterer and murderer, Solomon loved hundreds of woman. Rahab the gentile and prostitute. Ruth was also a gentile.

We can see these people in Matthew 1 because in God’s sovereign grace, He chose to use them. He used the the imperfect and ordinary people to fulfill His plan.

We are just like these people, ordinary and imperfect, but if we are willing to surrender our imperfections to God, He is very willing to transform us and use us as an instrument to fulfill His perfect plans.

You might be thinking that you are not qualified to serve the Lord because of your past, you might be wondering if God can use you because you messed-up in the past. But look at this people in Matthew 1, they’re a total loser. But God chose to use them and it’s because of His grace and sovereignty

Grace means that all you are and all you have comes because He chooses to give it, and not because you can demand it or deserve it. And grace is only possible because of Jesus Christ.

If you have Christ in you. God can use you to fulfill His great plans. You may seem like an ordinary man, but you can do extraordinary things for His glory.

As i have read somewhere, God does not call the qualified. He qualifies the called.

What do you think?

© 2008 by jhunnelle

4 thoughts on “WHAT CAN I SEE IN THE GENEALOGY OF JESUS CHRIST?

  1. Very true. I’ve thought about that too.It’s definitely something that I need to try harder when I screw up: that God can use my mistakes for His glory. :]

  2. i think that once we accept CHRIST as our savior, we are automatically OBLIGED to serve HIM. we shouldn’t expect ANOTHER CALLING to serve. it’s built-in. it’s like marriage, when you say “I do” you don’t expect to go through the marriage vow ceremony every day, what you are expected to do is to ACT and THINK married and serve your spouse. the same thing with our commitment to serve God once we accept Christ. it’s a daily commitment to serve Him even when everything feels and seems ordinary. Serving God doesn’t have to be done bigtime with full press. It’s simly living the best way you know how to honor Him that created you, loves you and saved you from eternal death.

  3. Your post tickled me back to the time when I had been rededicated to Him last year. Made me remember about David and Solomon, what they did, how God still called them for His glory, and how they became great Biblical characters because of who He is.God bless you, sis. (^_^(… And also on your upcoming marriage… (^_^(

  4. I read it Sis. It made me smile coz I was reminded again that God loves me despite and in spite of who I am and that my circumstance now can be turned from ashes to beauty by God’s grace! Thank you sis for the post!rayanne

Leave a Reply

