MY CALLING, MY FEARS, MY DOUBTS

I am thinking about Abraham’s calling. Was it hard for him to obey God? Did he ever bargain with God about his calling? God told him to leave his country, his people and his father’s household and go to the place God will show him. It must be hard for him to do so, but he chose to obey God. It is stressful to transfer from one place to another, not only that, he’ll leave his father’s household, he’ll leave his friends, another thing is God will lead him to a place where he haven’t been before.



Maybe while packing his things, his family and friends asked him “Abram, where are you going? Oh God just told me to go to the land he will show me. I think I will go to Canaan. “What Canaan, do you know how sinful Canaanites are, that their practices are detestable in God’s sight” (Leviticus 18), his family and friends might discouraged him; they might think that he is insane to go to place like Canaan. But Abram left as the Lord told him. He chose to obey God.



And so God declared to Abram

“I will make you a great nation and I will bless you, I will make your name great, and you will be a blessing. I will bless those who bless you whoever curses you I will curse; and all people on earth will be blessed through you”



I’ll be leaving soon, I’ll leave behind my family, my country, I’ll go to a place where I haven’t been before, to a place where culture is very different from mine, to a place where I can’t understand their language, to a place where Christianity is restricted. Sometimes I have doubts, am I really called to go to that place. Can I accomplish the things that God called me to do? Will I be fruitful? How will I share the Gospel? I didn’t even go to the seminary. What will be our future? Questions that I have in mind.



But one thing I’ve noticed from Abraham’s calling. God just told him to go, and he told him that I will bless you that all the people on earth will be blessed through you.



God called me and so I am blessed, He blessed me that I may be a blessing to others. In short he blessed me with the gift of salvation and called me that others may be blessed through me. He called me and so he gifted me, that I might share the gift of salvation to others. I should not be afraid because He is my shield and my very great reward. (Gen. 15:1)



Same is true when Jesus called or commissioned his disciples, He told them “go and make disciples of all nations.” Abrahamic covenant is in line with the great commission. Something like, hey you know now the good news, so what are you waiting for go and declare the good news, that others may be blessed through you.



I told my former officemate that I’ll be going to China to be a missionary, and she answered you are going to the earthquake fault line. And yes I know many will wonder, about my decision. Why China, why just go to Singapore, to New Zealand, to Canada or Dubai and work there. Yes, I can choose to disobey God and do my own will I might be hired in Singapore, Dubai or migrate to another country. I might earn a lot of money, but will I be happy then. I guess not, it will not go well with me. There is success, blessings, joy and fulfillment when you are doing the things that God purposed you to do. That happened to Abraham, God prospered him, God tested him, but Abraham obeyed, he trusted and put his faith in God and so God declared him righteous because of his faith.



God has blessed me with a godly man, physically I may not see our blessings now but I can see in my spiritual eyes that blessings upon blessings will come on our way. He declared in His word that He knew the plans He has for us, plans to prosper us and not to harm us, plans to give us hope and a future (Jeremiah 29:11)





God is faithful and what He has planned, so it will be, what he has purposed, so it will stand. (Isaiah 14:24)



Is God calling you, but you have fears, doubts and you are still bargaining with Him? Why don’t you try to do what Abraham did, he obeyed and you’ll see what happened.



Blessings

© 2008 by jhunnelle

Leave a Reply

