Thankful Thursday

It’s Thursday once again, this is the day where I share the things that I am thankful for, every day is a thankful day for me though.

There are lots of things that I want to share but today I am most thankful for the spiritual growth that I am experiencing right now. Psalms 131:2 described it all.

Surely I have composed and quieted my soul ; Like a weaned child rests against his mother, My soul is like a weaned child within me.

I thought that there’s nothing more peaceful than a little baby nursing, for those mothers who breast-fed they knew, that tiny little baby can be so demanding. When he’s hungry, he’ll start crying and won’t quit and stop until the mother gets him and gets the milk he needs. His needs must be given instantly.

The weaned child moves one more step toward maturity. He is no longer demanding and the mother doesn’t need to satisfy his needs instantly. When we are with God we are like weaned child with his mother. We stopped pushing our Father to accomplish what “WE” want Him to do for our lives. And that’s where I am right now. I am thankful for He changed my heart into a willing heart who accepts all that He is showing and teaching me. Like a weaned child I’m beginning to move beyond the place of acting out of “selfishness and empty conceit”.  Rather I can say I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances (Philippians 4:12).

I thank the Lord for He moved me to a place of trust, to trust Him no matter what.

How about you, what are you thankful for this week? Click here for more thankful list entries. May you have a blessed week.

© The Emissary’s Feet

6 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

  1. very nice post, indeed God played a big part in our life that we should always be thankful for. thanks for dropping by at my blog and for leaving a comment. happy TT to you, Cheers!

  2. That is a wonderful place! I guess I haven’t given it much consideration, but I think I’m kind of in the same position you are. I KNOW I’ve grown spiritually over the last year, but I never thought about it in terms of me being able to wait on God a little better! Good point!!

  3. What a wonderful TT post! I am also thankful for the changing power that God has brought to my life. Each day as I spend time in His Word and in His Presence, I learn and grow. What a wonderful feeling – to know that we are His Children and He cares so much for us! Happy TT!

  4. Beautiful scripture and thoughts. Walking with God is so on-going. About the time I think I have truly ate with such content I find more hunger surfacing and the seeking begins all over again. I have never found disappointment when His Word falls into my heart… only discouragement when my heart makes excusses not to follow.

Leave a Reply

