Thankful Thursday

As I am reflecting with my life, I have this honest question “what are the things that can make me happy?” Is it beautiful house and car? A high paying job? Is it traveling to beautiful places? Is it buying signature and branded clothes, shoes and bags? Is it eating in the expensive restaurants? Is it owning the latest gadgets in town, like iphone, ipad, imac, ipod(ohh that’s status symbol). I wonder if those things will make me happy, yes I’d surely be happy if I can afford to buy things that I really wanted, if I can travel to  places where I want to go. But the Lord made me realize, these things will not really give me a lasting happiness. When we are happy it’s just really for a short period of time. I remember when I first went overseas, it was the fulfillment of my long time dream, to travel abroad. When I first stepped in the airport and saw different faces and nationalities, that, I realized I was in the other country, I felt happy but it only lasted for few hours.

The feeling of happiness is momentarily, and so i realized I’m truly blessed even without those things. In fact what i need is not happiness,  I need joy, which made me really blessed because I have that in the Lord Jesus. In this world where everything is temporary, we need Someone who is unshakable and eternal, we need Someone whom we can trust, Someone who can give us joy and peace in whatever situation we are into.

In this chaotic world that we are into ,what we need is not happiness what we need is JOY and that we can only find in JESUS CHRIST. I am thankful that I have the joy of his salvation and the joy of serving my Lord.

Proverbs 30:7-9 “Two things I asked of You, Do not refuse me before I die:  Keep deception and lies far from me, Give me neither poverty nor riches; Feed me with the food that is my portion, That I will not be full and deny You and say “Who is the Lord” Or that I not be in want and steal, and profane the name of God.

This post is linked up with Laurie of Women Taking a Stand.

© The Emissary’s Feet

2 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

Leave a Reply

