But Lord….

“But Lord, ” Gideon asked, “how can I save Israel? My clan is the weakest in Manasseh, and I am the least in my family.” The LORD answered, “I will be with you, and you will strike down all the Midianites together. Judges 6:16-16

Gideon looked at himself as the weakest and least in his clan but God sees him as mighty warrior. God chose him and the 300 to deliver Israelites from his enemies, that they might not boast about themselves but they will glorify God instead.

Like Gideon, I sometimes have this thinking, I viewed myself as a failure and helpless, doubting and fearful of the future.  I have this “catastrophic thinking” that constantly runs through my head  “what if I failed”, “what if I can’t make it”… lots of what if . The Father made me realize though I was thinking again about me, about my image.

This is not about me, this is about Him. I may see myself as helpless, I may doubt my capabilities but I know God sees me the other way around. In my weaknesses He can show His strength, in all my shortcomings He can show His faithfulness and in my limitations He can show His unlimited power. That I may not boast but instead glorify Him alone. Or if I may boast, I will boast only about the Lord.

Visit Internet Cafe Devotions for more WFW.

5 thoughts on “But Lord….

  1. YES! What a great Word! How is it that we KNOW that God created us in His image for His purposes…and yet we question it…Thanking God He truly does KNOW what HE alone created us for…even when we aren’t sure…loved this!!

    lori

  2. Oh blessings jhunelle, What a spectacular photo and WORD! Your message was great as well. I, too, have thought often of my failures, but you have pointed us in the right direction, it is all about HIM, not us. This story of Gideon was a wonderful choice! Thank you for sharing this and visiting me to draw me to the message I needed to hear. Praying God continues flowing through you. May His power be unlimited in your life and He enables you to do all in His Name that He calls you to do,

    Thanks for praying for Denise! Please keep her in your prayers.
    Peggy

Leave a Reply

