Doing Everything for The Glory of God

From time to time I am thinking about how much our life had changed since we got married and started a family. Our hope and dream to be in the front line was sidetracked and put on hold.

Photobucket
Don’t get me wrong, I love my family, I love my daughter, indeed she brings joy and blessings to our lives and another blessing is coming, 11 weeks from now I’ll be giving birth to our second child. But sometimes I thought of just how much of my time is spent in our house. We rarely go out anymore. I envied those women who are doing full-time in the ministry especially those missionaries. I stopped teaching in the Sunday School since I gave birth. I couldn’t even stay long in the church every Sunday to listen to the preaching because my daughter sometimes is noisy and I need to bring her out.
Photobucket
Photobucket

Soon, I’ll be taking care of a toddler and a baby, couldn’t help but think….. can I ever go back to the ministry. I used to feel fulfilled when I did some ministries.

I am thanking the Father for reminding me of this verse, “So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God” 1 Corinthians 10:31

Being a wife to my husband and mother to my children are major part of my ministry. Whether I am at home taking care of my family, doing household chores, changing diaper, breastfeeding, bringing my daughter to the park, etc, etc… or sharing the gospel, it should be done with joy and grateful spirit.

I should do everything for the glory of God.

Father, you have a purpose for everything, thank you for the family you have given me. Thank you for giving me a loving husband, a lovely daughter and letting me pregnant again. Instead of thinking about the past, may You give me the grace to embrace completely the life I have now. Help me to minister to my family for your glory. Amen!

My thankful list for this week….. I am thankful for the following:

#73 opportunity to share the gospel again

#74 the pizza I made and the bread that my husband made

#75 reminding me not to forget the keys everytime I go out

#76 the public transportation, it’s convenient to commute, with the subways and buses

#77 thankful that a friend working in the middle east was given a free airplane ticket so she could visit her family back home on July

#78 for the good weather, I can go out for a walk and my daughter can play also outside

#79 the seven stars we saw in the sky the other night, rarely you see them here because of the pollution

#80 bread machine my husband bought

#81 a husband who’s helping me at home, he’s cooking and washing dishes

#82 that the result of my tests are all great

#83 a healthy baby in the womb

#84 for a sister who is celebrating her birthday today

This post This post has been submitted to this week’s Gratitude post with Ann Voskamp and to Thankful Thursday with Iris.

7 thoughts on “Doing Everything for The Glory of God

  1. I loved this so much, and I felt your heart oozing through each word. Don’t EVER think that you are not in a full-time ministry. I think mommies tend to minimize their importance and their impact on the world! All that your child has within them, their potential, their character, their eternal destiny, their impact on this world, all of this is in your hands to mold as God would have them be. There are so many people in this world who are doing mighty things for God publicly, only because there was a mother on her knees privately seeking God’s face in order to raise her child in His likeness.
    I loved your list! Especially the bread machine. Aren’t they just wonderful?????
    Visit me sometime at http://www.hiddenrichessecretplaces.blogspot.com/

  2. You are blessed! What a sweet husband to help you by cooking and washing dishes! Love & prayers, in Jesus, Cynthia

  3. As a working mom I can tell you I struggle not to be envious of sah moms but I think he has us where he has us for a reason. All this to say that even when you are in a ministry (or a career that is a calling like I am) than fulfillment is still found in Christ and him alone, not in the career or ministry. But I can’t really preach for I have yet to learn to be fulfilled exactly where I am. All. The. Time.

  4. Pingback: Grace Alone… » Blog Archive » Thankful Thursday ~ Healing

Leave a Reply

