Choosing Life

Life is Beautiful even When It Hurts


My Favorite pair of Shoes

Tell us about your favorite pair of shoes, and where they’ve taken you.

You have been with me for 10 years. You were the first pair of shoes I got when I moved to another country. You weren’t my first choice, but the cute young man recommended you, saying that you look good on girls.

You’ve been with me in all seasons of my life, figuratively and literally. We ran and walked together during summer, walked in the snow when it was winter, smelled the flowers when it was spring, and stepped on dry autumn leaves.

We braved the rain together during the wet season. When I first became pregnant, you were there, and as I gave birth, you stood by my side. You remained my faithful companion through the journey of my second pregnancy and childbirth.

Together, we embarked on the adventure of moving to another country. You witnessed my entrepreneurial beginnings when I started my small business. Through the muddy roads and rainy days, when heart was aching,  you were always there, a constant presence in my life. You’ve truly been with me through all the seasons, both literal and metaphorical.

It pains me to part ways with you, but I understand that nothing lasts forever in this world.

©️JSZ



Leave a comment